Vico Sotto named anti-corruption champion by US state department

  • Page Views 619
  • PASIG City Mayor Vico Sotto has been named by the US Department of State as one of 12 “International Anti-corruption Champions.”

    In a statement posted on the department’s website, US Secretary of State Antony Blinken said Sotto said the International Anti-corruption Champions Award recognizes individuals “who have worked tirelessly, often in the face of adversity, to defend transparency, combat corruption, and ensure accountability in their own countries.”

    He pledged that the Biden administration will work in concert with its partners, “including courageous individuals” who champion anti-corruption efforts in their respective countries.

    The State Department described Sotto as a “standard-bearer for a new generation of Philippine politicians” who prioritize anti-corruption and transparency initiatives in their election campaigns and in office.

    “In 2019, Sotto, then a 29-year-old city councilor, defeated an incumbent mayor whose family had ruled the city for 27 years. Sotto’s prior work on the city council resulted in freedom of information legislation that allowed city residents to request documents without having to provide a justification – the first such law in the Metro Manila area,” the statement said.

    “Sotto has sought to solidify his reputation as a fresh voice with a new, more transparent approach to governance,” it also said.

    It also said Sotto “pledged to avoid any kickbacks in awarding city contracts, established a 24/7 public information and complaints hotline and mandated that the value of all city government contracts be reduced by at least 10 percent-a measure intended to reduce bribery in the contract awarding process.”

    Sotto first entered politics in 2016 when he won a term as an independent city councilor.

    His 2019 victory against incumbent Mayor Bobby Eusebio ended the 27-year reign of the Eusebio clan in Pasig.

    The rest of the honorees are Diana Salazar of Ecuador, Ardian Dvorani of Albania, Juan Francisco Sandoval Alfaro of Guatemala, Sophia Pretrick of the Federated States of Micronesia, Anjali Bhardwaj of India, Ibrahima Kalil Gueye of Guinea, Mustafa Abdullah Sanalla of Libya, Dhuha Mohammed of Iraq, Bolot Temirov of the Kyrgyz Republic, Francis Ben Kaifala of Sierra Leone and Ruslan Ryaboshapka of Ukraine.(A. Achero, Malaya)


    New Posts Recently publish post More

    • 29 July 2021
      5 days ago No comment

      With multiple medals, Tokyo 2020 an Olympic banner year for Philippines

      The Philippines will finish with multiple medals in the ongoing Olympics. This means that the Tokyo 2020 Olympics will represent a banner year for the country. The Philippine Daily Inquirer observed that this will be the first time since the Los Angeles 1932 Games that the Philippines will win ...

    • 22 July 2021
      2 weeks ago No comment

      Lolit Solis hints at Kris Aquino’s possible run in 2022

      Will Kris Aquino run in the national elections in 2022? This was the question of veteran entertainment journalist Lolit Solis who promised to vote for Kris should she decide to run in the national elections next year. But Lolit advised Kris not to run for mayor in Quezon City ...

    • 22 July 2021
      2 weeks ago No comment

      Philippines administers 15.6 million COVID-19 shots

      The Philippines has administered 15.6 million doses against the COVID-19 virus. Harry Roque, spokesperson of President Rodrigo Duterte, shared this number in a media briefing Wednesday (July 21). Of the 15.6 million does administered by the government, Roque said 10,585,261 million persons got their first dose. As well, 5,031,301 ...

    • 17 July 2021
      3 weeks ago No comment

      First Nations peoples condemn tweet on Church burnings

      At a press conference in Vancouver, Pentecostal assistant minister Jenn Allan-Riley, a 60s scoop survivor whose mother attended residential school, called for the wave of church arsons to stop. She adds that “Burning down churches is not in solidarity with us Indigenous people. As I said, we do not ...

    • 17 July 2021
      3 weeks ago No comment

      Paki-Ayos: A New Service for Filipinos in Canada

      Paki-Ayos Services Inc. will do errands for you in the Philippines Do you need something done in the Philippines, but air fare, accommodations, and pasalubong cost too much for you to go back home? A new service, Paki-Ayos, is here to help. Forget about going on a very expensive ...

    %d bloggers like this: